Lalit Narayan Mithila University (LNMU)

0 1,370

Established in the year 1972, the University strives hard to offer innovative and quality education to all its students. It has been accredited with B grade by NAAC. It offers courses relating to various disciplines to its students. The university has also received UGC affiliation.

Brief Introduction about LNMU

The college offers both graduate and postgraduate courses in disciplines namely commerce, science, humanities and life science. Located in the urban city of Darbhanga the university covers over an area of 201 acres. The university is the home for various valuable plants and ponds which contributes to its infrastructure.


Type Public
Affiliated by UGC
Accredited by NAAC
Courses offered Undergraduate, postgraduate, distant educational programmes and PhD
Established in 1972

Faculty and Department

The college aims to develop, nurture and mould the spirits and quests of their students. The various departments and faculties act as a bridge, guiding the student community.

There are 8 major departments,
  • Faculty of law
  • Faculty of sciences
  • Faculty of Humanities
  • Faculty of education
  • Faculty of social sciences
  • Faculty of dentistry
  • Faculty of fine arts
  • Faculty of commerce
Similarly, other major departments and cells include,
  • Library
  • Sports
  • Placement cell
  • Anti-ragging cell
  • Grievance redressal cell
  • Women cell
  • Redressal cell
  • Placement cell
  • Cafeteria

Admission Time and date

The college takes students for all the courses offered. Students are selected via counselling on the basis of merit. But there are additional requirements for every course. The below table gives the important dates pertaining to the admission.

Admission opens 1st week of May
Admission closes Last week of July

 Look through the official website to find out the actual dates for each course.

Admission Process

Follow the below pointers to apply for LNMU

  • The University selects students on the spot or through open admission.
  • Students can get and fill the application on the payment of a nominal fee.
  • Students will be required to attach the necessary documents and papers.
  • Selection is based upon the reservation criterion of the university and merit.

Distance Education Programmes

The distance directorate was established in the year 1998. The admission for these courses commences from 1st week of January. The department is offering offers the following,

  • UG
  • PG
  • B.lis
  • M.lis
  • other professional programmes.
  • Master of science
  • MA education

The fee for these courses had to be paid online. The application can be made online unlike others.

List of colleges

The college also has constituent colleges and affiliated colleges under its branch. Namely

Constituent college

Darbhanha district

  • C. M. College, Darbhanga.    
  • C. M. Science College, Darbhanga    
  • C. M. Law College, Darbhanga
  • Marwari College, Darbhanga 
  • M. R. M. College, Darbhanga
  • K. S. College, Laheriasarai, Darbhanga
  • M. K. College, Laheriasarai, Darbhang
  • Millat College, Laheriasarai, Darbhanga
  • M. L. S. M. College, Darbhanga         
  • B. M. A. College, Baheri, Darbhanga 
  • M. K. S. College, Trimuhan Chandauna, Darbhanga
  • J. K. College, Biraul, Darbhanga
  • J. N. College, Nehra, Darbhanga       

Madhunani district

  • R. K. College, Madhubani      
  • J. N. College, Madhubani       
  • R. N. College, Pandaul, Madhubani   
  • B. M. College, Rahika, Madhubani
  • K. V. Sc. College, Ucchaith, Madhubani
  • J. M. D. P. L. Mahila College, Madhubani
  • L. N. J. College, Jhanjharupr, Madhubani
  • M. L. S. College, Sarisabpahi, Madhubani
  • H. P. S. College, Madhepur, Madhubani
  • C. M. J. College, Downwarihat, Madhubani   
  • C. M. B. College, Deorh, Ghoghardiha, Madhubani  
  • D. B. College, Jaynagar, Madhubani 
  • V. S. J. College, Rajnagar, Madhubani          

Samastipur District

  • Samastipur College, Samastipur       
  • R. N. A. R. College, Samastipur        
  • B. R. B. College, Samastipur 
  • Women’s College, Samastipur           
  • A. N. D. College, Shahpur Patory, Samastipur          
  • R. B. S. College, Andaur, Samastipu 
  • R. B. College, Dalsinghsarai, Samastipur
  • U. P. College, Pusa, Samastipur       
  • U. R. College, Rosera, Samastipur    
  • D. B. K. N. College
  • Dr. L. K. V. D. College, Tajpur, Samastipur
  • G. M. R. D. College, Mohanpur, Samastipur 


  • G. D. College, Begusarai       
  • S. B. S. S. College, Begusarai           
  • S. K. M. College, Begusarai   
  • A. P. S. M. College, Barauni, Begusarai
  • R. C. S. College, Manjhaul, Begusarai          

Affiliated colleges

  • Affiliated degree colleges
  • Affiliated B.ed college
  • Affiliated dental colleges

University Contact details

Address Lalit Narayan Mithila University, Kameshwaranagar, Darbhanga, Bihar (INDIA) – 846004
Email id [email protected]
Phone no 7717786057
Subscribe to our newsletter
Sign up here to get the latest news, updates and special offers delivered directly to your inbox.
You can unsubscribe at any time

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.