Babasaheb Bhimrao Ambedkar Bihar University (BRABU), Muzaffarpur


Most often called as B.R. Ambedkar Bihar University (BRABU). This University has about 37 constituent colleges under its wings. The University also provides distance education to its students. Further, it was awarded a NAAC B by the National Assessment and Accreditation Council. The University is also an active member of the AIU (Association of Indian universities). It offers 40+ courses to its students who can take either as a full time and part-time course.

Brief Introduction about BRABU

The University offers graduate, postgraduate and professional courses from which the students can freely choose from. A few among them include Commerce, Engineering, Physics, Botany, liberal arts and computer applications. The University is aided by the state and is recognised by UGC. The college also has hostel facilities to accommodate the needs of students who come from different places. Have a glance into the table below to know some of the important facts pertaining to the college.


College type  State  
No.of faculties  144 
Established on  1960 
Courses available Vocational, graduate, postgraduate and distance education.  
Accredited by  NAAC 
Recognised by  UGC 

Faculty and Department

BRABU University has a list of faculties to deal with student grievances and assist them in their journey. Below is a list of faculties.

  • Hostel
  • Library
  • Students Union
  • Anti-ragging cell
  • National Cadet Corps (NCC)
  • Sports
  • Internal complaint committee
  • Placement cell
  • Grievance cell
  • Cafeteria
  • Gym
  • Community hall

The courses include faculties which are inclusive of

  • Management faculty
  • Science faculty (BSC, MSC)
  • Commerce faculty (BCOM, MCOM)
  • Humanities faculty (BA, MA)
  • Social science and law faculty

Admission Time and date

Students must have completed 10 and +2 to fulfil the basic eligibility criteria. Apart from that different courses hold different criteria which will be required to be fulfilled. The table contains dates for admission. However, keep a track of the official page in order to find out the exact date and time.

Applications open  1st week of may  
Application closes Last week of may  

Admission Process

The following is the process to apply,

  • Create a login id. This will be used for applying online.
  • Application fee of INR 1000 will have to be paid via admission portal.
  • However, the admissions are merit-based and university products counselling to fill various places.

Distance Education Programmes

The university received the approval to open Centre For distance Education in 1997. Since then the students who have undertaken those courses have produced good results. The university offers distance education in the following areas,

  • MA
  • MSC
  • M COM
  • BA
  • BSC
  • B COM
  • Self-financing vocational and job-oriented courses.

Practicals are not conducted for these courses and no teaching sessions are conducted. Assignments are conducted online. Students can find the admit card, model papers and other details on the website.

List of colleges.

The following is the list of constituent colleges under the B.R. Ambedkar Bihar University

  • Langat Singh College
  • Mahant Darshan Das Mahila College
  • R.D.S. College, Muzaffarpur
  • Dr. R.M.L.S. College, Muzaffarpur
  • M.P. Sinha Science College, Muzaffarpur
  • R.B.B.M. College, Muzaffarpur
  • Nitishwar Singh College, Muzaffarpur
  • Rameshwar Singh College, Muzaffarpur
  • L.N.T.College, Muzaffarpur
  • M.S.K.B. College, Muzaffarpur
  • Jiwachh College, Motipur, Muzaffarpur
  • R.C. College, Muzaffarpur
  • S.R.P.S. College, Muzaffarpur
  • R.N College, Hajipur, Vaishali
  • Vaishali Mahila College, Hajipur, Vaishali
  • Jamuni Lal College, Hajipur, Vaishali
  • D.C. College, Hajipur, Vaishali
  • Ray Birendra Singh College, Kutubpur Kothi, Hajipur, Vaishali
  • L.N. College, Vaishali
  • Samta College, Vaishali
  • B.M.D. College, Hajipur, Vaishali
  • S.R.K.G. College, Sitamarhi
  • S.L.K. College, Sitamarhi
  • R.S.S. Science College, Sitamarhi
  • R.S.S. Mahila College, Sitamarhi
  • J.S. College, Sitamarhi
  • M.S. College, East Champaran
  • Dr. S.K. Sinha Women’s College, East Champaran
  • S.N.S. College, Hajipur
  • L.N.D. College, East Champaran
  • M.S.S.G. College, East Champaran
  • S.R.A.P. College, East Champaran
  • K.C.T.C. College, East Champaran
  • M.J.K. College, West Champaran
  • R.L.S.Y. College, West Champaran
  • T.P. Verma College, West Champaran
  • C.N. College, Sahebganj, Muzaffarpur
  • J.B.S.D. College, Bakuchi

Affiliated colleges

  • Dr. J.M.College          
  • S.N.S. College                       
  • R.B.T.S.H. Medical College   
  • S.K.Medical College                           
  • M.I.T.                          
  • L.N.M.I.Business Management          
  • S.K.J. Law College
  • V.I.R. & Business Management         
  • M.H.Medical College  
  • Islamia Degree College          
  • Govt. Ayurvedic Med. College
  • Govt. Tibbi Medical College   
  • Govt S.K. Ayurved Med. College       
  • Govt S.Y.N.A. Ayurvedic Medical College
  • Govt S.D. Ayurvedic Med. College    
  • Gaya Homeopatic Medical College    
  • Pt. J.K.J. College                   
  • JLNM College Nawahi           
  • GMHP College           
  • MNM Womens College          
  • Nitiswar Ayurvedic College    
  • NHM College   Biharsharief                
  • ZH Unani Medical College
  • N Unani College         
  • G. D. Memorial Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital     
  • Dr. P. B. S. Gaya Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital 
  • Dr. Yadubir Sinha Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital             MuzaffarpurS. Govt. Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital         
  •  Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital
  • Kent Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital         
  • Patna Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital                               
  • Mangla Kamla Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital
  • Magadh Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital    
  • Maharshi Mehi Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital     
  • B. N. M. Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital    
  • The Temple of Hahnemann Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital         
  • K. N. Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital         
  • Rameshwar Das Kedia Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital     Motihari           
  • Dr. Halim Homeopathic Medical College & Hospital              
  • Shri Moti Singh Jageshwari Ayurvedic College & Hospital

University Contact details

Email [email protected]
Phone no 0621-2243071
Address Kalambagh Rd, B.R.Ambedkar Bihar University, Muzaffarpur, Bihar 842002.

Leave A Reply

Your email address will not be published.